the Sunday Post

Weekend Update #1

I’ve been reading (and writing) so much lately that I decided do to a weekly update post to talk about what I’m currently reading, what book(s) I’ve finished reading this week, and what’s on tap for the coming week.

I’m linking to The Sunday Post, hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

img_7398

Read This Week

Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly

The true story of the black women mathematicians who overcame Jim Crow segregation as well as institutionalized misogyny to help America put the first man on the moon.

Noteworthy by Riley Redgate

I can’t express enough how much I loved this book. It follows 16-year-old Jordan Sun as she cross-dresses to join an elite all-male a cappella group, but the book is so much more than the main plot-line. Put it on your tbr: it releases in May.

Currently Reading

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou

Maya Angelou’s memoir has been collecting dust in my parents’ attic for years. I think I tried to read it when I was in high school and got scared off by Angelou’s honest prose.

Up Next

Burn Baby Burn by Meg Medina

This book has been on my wishlist for a while—a YA novel about a Latina in the 70s dealing with the lack of intersectionality in the current feminist dialogue? NEED. The kindle version is on sale for $2.99, get yourself some.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

I’ve been meaning to read Alexie for years. Now seemed like a good time, since I’m reading as many authors of color in as many varieties as possible this year.

Beloved by Toni Morrison

I accidentally read Jazz first, so I’m looking forward to reading the prequel. Morrison’s lyrical prose is a thing of beauty—get yourself some!

The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander

This book about “mass incarceration in the age of colorblindness” has been on my TBR ever since my dad told me to read it. (Fun fact: I bought it used, and the previous owner annotated the first chapter and then either gave up or didn’t finish it.)

This Week’s Goals

I’m behind on my February goal of writing 30,000 words, so this week I’m shooting for 12,000 words by next Sunday.

Since I had an awful stomach bug a week ago, I’m also looking to re-integrate yoga in my daily routine. This week, I want to set myself up for success by making a plan for daily practices.

Leave a Reply

