reviews, the Sunday Post

Weekend Update #2

Welcome to my version of The Sunday Post (hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer), where I talk about what my reading progress as well as share updates from my current writing projects.

Read This Week

13214I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou

Maya Angelou’s first autobiography runs the length of human emotions, from devastating to hopeful – totally worth reading, and I’m looking forward to picking up the next installment at some point.25982606

Burn Baby Burn by Meg Medina

This story about a young Latina girl coming of age during one of New York City’s darkest years is inspiring for anyone who’s feeling a little hopeless at this point in our country’s history.

Currently Reading

6792458The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander

I sincerely wish I was in a college sociology course for this book. It’s practically begging for discussion.6149

Beloved by Toni Morrison

I’ve hardly dug into this at all, but I can already tell it’s going to be an amazing journey. Morrison’s language sucks me in, no matter how sad I know the story will be.

Up Next This Week

I still have The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian in my queue, but I’m open to suggestions for the rest of February.

Possibilities Include:

  • The Education of Margot Sanchez by Lilliam Rivera (releasing 2/21)
  • The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (releasing 2/28)
  • Whatever Happened to Interracial Love (short stories by Kathleen Collins)

I’m open to suggestions for any authors of color I should check out?

Writing Life Update

This week, my goal was to hit 12,000 words by the end of today. Suffice to say, it’s been a rough week emotionally. Our 14-year-old wolamute has bad hips and slipped on some ice, so I’ve been distracted worrying about her, but she’s slowly recovering for now. Staying focused on my goals is pretty much the only thing keeping me sane right now, but I was only able to eek out 8,000 words this week. I’m trying to focus on my mental/emotional health and let the words come when they will.

6 thoughts on “Weekend Update #2”

    1. I’ve heard amazing things about The Hate U Give – it’s one of those books that came at just the right time. Looking forward to seeing what you think when you finish it!

  1. I remember being Beloved back in college and just being shattered by it, such a powerful, heartbreaking story.

    I really struggle with writing sometimes – I want to be like Stephen King and treat it like a job, sitting at my desk for 8 hours and pounding out word after word….but, I’m just not like that! I’m more of an emotional writer it seems!

    1. I totally get that! I read Stephen King’s On Writing recently and felt terrible that I can normally dedicate 2-4 hours a day before I feel like I’m losing my mind. I have to take days off too. But I think it’s more important to take care of yourself and let the writing follow that.

Leave a Reply

