the Sunday Post

Weekend Update #3

Welcome to my version of The Sunday Post (hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer): where I talk about what my reading progress as well as share updates from my current writing projects.

Read This Week

6149Beloved by Toni Morrison

I have a lot of thoughts about the impact of this book, but most of them will need to wait until I read it again. Morrison is not one to be read lightly. Highly recommend, although reading Beloved isn’t exactly an uplifting experience.

The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander6792458

An important argument about how our allegedly colorblind criminal justice system functions as a racial caste system, keeping primarily black and brown men disenfranchised and stigmatized even after they’re released from prison. Worth a read, especially for anyone interested in racial justice or sociology.

843804The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

I’m absolutely struck by the way Alexie weaves the sad truth of a kid growing up on the rez with the comic voice and unusual hopefulness of Junior himself.

Currently Reading25701463-_sy180_

You’re Welcome, Universe by Whitney Gardner

I received a copy of this book about a deaf female graffiti artist from NetGalley and I can put it off no longer – check out the cover on this one, it’s gorgeous!!

Up Next

  • a friend of the family loaned me Jodi Piccoult’s Perfect Match and Christina Baker Kline’s Orphan Train, so those are both on priority
  • despite some of the goodreads reviews declaring the MC “unlikable”, I’m thinking I’ll check out Eric Lingstrom’s Not If I See You First

The Diverse Reads 2017 challenge for March is characters with disabilities – anyone have any suggestions? Let me know in the comments below. Happy Sunday! ~

 

1 thought on “Weekend Update #3”

Leave a Reply

