the Sunday Post

Weekend Update #4

Welcome to my version of The Sunday Post (hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer): where I talk about what my reading progress as well as share updates from my current writing projects.


life update

Ever had that awkward moment where you think you’re going to write an adult novel and then you realize you’d rather write about the same protagonist while she’s in high school? Yeah, that happened to me this week.

On the bright side, I’ve been steadily working on this new idea: coming up with some sort of plot structure (although I reserve the right to change it), outlining side characters, and doing some brief scenes to get inside a 16-year-old’s head. It feels…right.

On the down side, I’m pretty much trashing about 25K of work from this year so far. Well, I’m setting it aside, at least. Not to say I couldn’t write it at some point, but for whatever reason my heart is drawing me to write YA, and I have to listen.


blog update

This week I started a new feature, Comfort Reads, where I discuss re-reading books. I’m starting with a series on Harry Potter, with new posts every Thursday.

Additionally, I’m changing the way I do reviews. At the beginning of the year, I posted a medium-long review for every book I read, which often meant I was posting only reviews all week long. In an effort to sort of streamline things, I’m going to only post reviews on Fridays. I will still be posting short(er) reviews on Goodreads (and I’m always open to new friends!). On the blog, I’m going to highlight one book each week, either a diverse book I think deserves more attention, or a problematic book I think deserves less praise.


read this week

25701463-_sy180_You’re Welcome, Universe by Whitney Gardner (release date: March 7) – 5 huge stars

I highly recommend this book for multiple reasons: (a) organic diversity (b) strong narrative voice & character journey and (c) amazing artwork throughout. Check out my review for more gushing analysis. (5 of 5 stars)

15818107Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline – 3 stars

I was intrigued by the dual narrative between two women from completely different generations, both of whom were orphaned at a young age and left to the system—the orphan train for Vivian in 1929 and the present-day foster care system for Molly. Ultimately, I was let down by the execution of the story, but it was still pretty enjoyable.

currently reading

18921820-_sx120_No Turning Back: The History of Feminism and the Future of Women by Estelle B. Freedman

I’ve been meaning to read this book for about seven years. I went through this phase where I kept downloading books to my kindle and not actually reading them. Since it’s Women’s History Month, I figured it’s high time I make my way through this nearly-500-page historical analysis. I’m only reading a chapter a day—too much academic writing makes me wonder how I ever earned a B.A.

111180-_sy180_Perfect Match by Jodi Picoult

I haven’t ready any of Picoult’s books in a while. I’m always struck by the way she takes the most difficult topics and gives them depth from multiple perspectives. Perfect Match is no exception: I’m on the edge of my seat, dying to know how it turns out.

from the TBR pile

This month, I’m linking up with Kimberly @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer’s Take Control TBR Challenge. I have just so many books I’ve purchased over the years that I haven’t gotten around to reading. I’m reading 2 books from my owned TBR pile for every 1 book I purchase, and in March I’m going to tackle as many as I can.

  • My lovely friend Taylor got me Men Explain Things to Me for Christmas so that’s on priority ^_^
  • I am going to cheat and treat myself to a new purchase this coming week. After all, I have read 17 out of my 40 total TBR list this year so far!

Have a great Sunday and a wonderful week everyone!

3 thoughts on “Weekend Update #4”

  1. I think sometimes what we THINK we want to write and the story struggling to get out are not always the same. I’ve had that too where I wanted to write an adult protag and yet the voice in my head was stubbornly YA. You just have to go with it, I guess. 🙂 Nice excerpt BTW, just clicked over to read it.

    I’m really curious about You’re Welcome, Universe- nice to see it was a 5 star read! May have to get that one.

    Have a great week.

    1. It’s equal parts frustrating and mind-blowingly awesome. Half of writing fiction is getting your brain to shut up and letting your heart take over. When it works, it’s amazing. When it doesn’t…well, it’s still worth it in the end.

Leave a Reply

