Soundtrack Saturday

Soundtrack Saturday: playlist for a protagonist

Soundtrack saturdaySoundtrack Saturday is a meme hosted by Erin @ The Hardcover Lover.

This is my first time participating in this meme, which is surprising considering how many of my Spotify playlists are dedicated to characters. I have at least 5 playlists I’ve created for different protagonists of novel projects. It really helps me get into the mood and access the character’s view of the world.

The playlist I’m sharing this week is one I created for Ruth, the 16-year-old protagonist of my current YA project. Ruth’s favorite genres are Pop Punk/Post-Hardcore, but since she’s also dealing with clinical depression, I added some songs that have comforted me in hard times, songs I have cried to plenty of times.

Ruth[less]: A Playlist

  1. Say Anything (Else) – Cartel
  2. Conspiracy – Paramore
  3. Hit The Switch – Bright Eyes
  4. Everything Is Alright – Motion City Soundtrack
  5. Midnight: Carroll Street – Into It. Over It.
  6. Nobody Puts Baby In a Corner – Fall Out Boy
  7. Props & Mayham – Pierce the Veil
  8. The Walking Wounded – Bayside
  9. Cavanaugh Park – Something Corporate
  10. I Can Feel a Hot One – Manchester Orchestra
  11. Hammers and Strings [A Lullaby] – Jack’s Mannequin
  12. Fools (Acoustic) – The Temper Trap
  13. Grey Room – Damien Rice
  14. Self-Conclusion – The Spill Canvas
  15. Sullen Girl – Fiona Apple
  16. the lonely – Christina Perry
  17. Hero – Regina Spektor
  18. Fix You – Coldplay
  19. After the Storm – Mumford & Sons
  20. Let It All Out – Relient K
  21. Down Towards the Healing – Lovedrug
  22. Anti-D – The Wombats
  23. The Great Escape – P!nk
  24. The Voice Within – Christina Aguilera
  25. Seventeen – Alessia Cara

The full playlist is on my Spotify profile – follow me and we can be music buddies!

 

4 thoughts on “Soundtrack Saturday: playlist for a protagonist”

  1. Ooh, I love so many of these artists!! Fall Out Boy, Coldplay and Alessia Cara are all so amazing. I’m definitely going to listen to more on your list. 😊 That’s so awesome you make playlists for your characters!! 🎉

    1. Sometimes it can turn into a procrastination technique, but mostly I find it’s a great way to get inside someone else’s head. When I lived in the city and had an hour commute every day, I would listen to the playlist to get in the mood, so that even when I wasn’t writing, I was still thinking about the novel. Glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

