updates

welcome to the new blog!

revampgraphica little background

At the beginning of this year, one of my big goals was to be a bigger part of the online community. Living in a small town is hard on me in that I don’t social options that I had living in New York City, and I recognized that the isolation was getting to me. The only place I could turn: the Internet. Unfortunately, Facebook encourages my depressed tendency to endlessly compare my life to everyone else’s, so I’ve made the effort to cut that out of my life. Thus, I started to blog more seriously in the effort to find a sense of community

In January, I started to re-focus what started as a personal blog, and I started posting more book reviews. I’ve been trying to get involved in memes, particularly related to the #WeNeedDiverseBooks movement. Around the end of March, following a bout of serious self-doubt related to my depression, I realized that I need to be blogging about my struggles. My voice may only travel so far, and I may not be knowledgeable about all aspects of diversity, but depression is, in a sense “my lane” and I might as well write about it.

So here we are: new blog design and a new blog title. I figured it deserves some explanation.

story (n.): a narrative, either true or fictitious, in prose or verse, designed to interest, amuse, or instruct the hearer or reader.

salve (n.): anything that soothes, mollifies, or relieves.

the story salve is a blog about stories, both reading and writing, but it’s more than just a book blog. For most of my life, stories have been my connection to the world, from my childhood spent with my head buried in a book, to my adolescence scribbling in journals, to my journey writing fiction.

Like many kids, I started reading because I wanted to escape into another world, but as I got older it became more than that. Reading and writing have literally kept me alive through my decade-long struggle with depression. My habit of journaling in high school enabled me to self-assess my mental state and thus get help when I needed it. My habit of writing and reading fiction allowed me a way to escape, but also to reinvent myself in the context of other stories.

Stories are the salve on the wounds of my heart.

linebreak

the future of the blog

As of this writing, April 2017, I’m working toward more discussion posts about writing, reading, and living with depression. I hope to also participate more actively in the diverse book blogging community, adding to the narrative when I can but mostly seeking out voices different from my own. I will continue posting reviews, but I hope to minimize that aspect and focus more on sharing thoughts.

some up-coming features:

As always, I appreciate all of you. Your kind words in your comments mean so much to me and I look forward to seeing where the future takes us!

6 thoughts on “welcome to the new blog!”

    1. Aww thanks! I’m pretty stoked – I love talking about tropes and I have so much fun reading your posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

