Diversity Spotlight Thursday

Diversity Spotlight Thursday: Muslim Main Characters

DiversityThursday

Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Aimal @ Bookshelves and Paperbacks. The goal: talk about diverse books! The meme features 3 diverse books—1 diverse book you read and enjoyed, 1 diverse book that you haven’t read yet, and 1 diverse book that hasn’t been released yet.

This week I want to talk about Religious Diversity, the May theme for Diverse Reads 2017. In particular, I’m going to be spotlighting Muslim main characters.

A Diverse Book I Read & Enjoyed

Sofia Khan Is Not Obliged by Ayisha Malik

This is a funny, light-hearted book with a Muslim main character that follows her trials and tribulations as she tries to please her parents, write a book about Muslim dating, and avoid marrying the wrong guy! I really enjoyed the window into Muslim immigrant culture as well as insight about Islam itself; I really related to Sofia despite the fact that I’m not currently religious, in that her religious practice closely mirrored my own experience with Christianity.

A Diverse Book on my TBR

A Map of Home by Randa Jarrar

This book has been on my TBR for years, as embarrassing as that is. The story takes place in the 80s & 90s and follows Nadali, a bisexual woman growing up in Kuwait, and later evacuating to Egypt and finally America. Needless to say, I’m super stoked about the bisexual rep as well as the coming-of-age in the Middle East.

A Diverse Book Releasing Soon

Saints and Misfits by S.K. Ali (June 13, 2017)

I’ve seen a lot of excitement for this book around the book blogging community, both for the representation and the adorable cover design. I mean, how can you not love that cover?! It’s definitely on my to-buy list.

linebreak

Those are my picks this week, but I would love to hear from you guys. What awesome books have you read with Muslim main characters? Have you read any of the books on my list? Let me know in the comments below!

5 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday: Muslim Main Characters”

Leave a Reply

