Diversity Spotlight Thursday

Diversity Spotlight Thursday: Jewish Main Characters

DiversityThursday

Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Aimal @ Bookshelves and Paperbacks. The goal: talk about diverse books! The meme features 3 diverse books—1 diverse book you read and enjoyed, 1 diverse book that you haven’t read yet, and 1 diverse book that hasn’t been released yet.

In keeping with the theme for May’s Diverse Reads 2017 challenge, I’m going to continue talking about religious diversity. This week, I’m spotlighting Jewish main characters.

A Diverse Book I Read & Enjoyed

Playing With Matches by Suri Rosen

This story of a teenager who becomes an anonymous matchmaker stole my heart. Raina’s voice was authentic with just the right amount of snark, and the story provides a comic view into life in a tight-knit Jewish community in Toronto. I was laughing out loud reading all of Raina’s mishaps. It was fun to read a book that’s ostensibly about romance and dating that doesn’t emphasize teenagers dating—Raina works hard to set up her clients, but she doesn’t bother with dating herself.

A Diverse Book on my TBR

Everything Is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer

This book has been on my physical TBR for a while, after I purchased a copy in a used bookstore circa 2012. The story follows a young man (the author?) as he searches for answers to his family’s past in the Ukraine. I’m always into a self-discovery story, plus I have such an embarrassing obsession with anything meta (don’t judge me). I’ve yet to read anything by Foer but I’ve heard amazing things about his writing and I’m looking forward to reading something ~literary~ in the near future.

A Diverse Book That Hasn’t Yet Been Released

The Girl With The Red Balloon by Katherine Locke (September 1)

I keep hearing about this book, mostly because I follow the author on Twitter. I’m not generally a fantasy reader, but I’m a sucker for time travel, and this story is about Ellie, who accidentally time travels to 1988 East Berlin—yes please!

linebreak

Have you read any awesome books with Jewish MCs? Read any of the books on this list or have suggestions for my TBR? Let me know in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday: Jewish Main Characters”

  1. Ooh, I didn’t know that’s what The Girl with the Red Balloon was about! Very interesting! (Lol for some reason I assumed it would be like The Girl on the Train…there are too many books with ‘girl’ in the title!)

  2. I recommend the following for your TBR; Naomi Alderman’s ‘Disobedience’ is a quite excellent exploration of friendship, religion, sexuality, trust, relationships, identity, culture and gender and how all these forces intersect 🙂 also, ‘Day After Night’ by Anita Diamant, ‘Once’ by Morris Gleitzman, ‘Maus’ by Art Speigelman and although it’s really not fiction, Elie Wiesel’s ‘Night’ is one book that I will always go back and re-read.

      1. you’re welcome 🙂 I totally love your blog and have scooped a load of titles for my TBR list too 😉 ‘Diversity Spotlight’ is a great idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

