Diversity Spotlight Thursday

Diversity Spotlight Thursday: LGBT adult fiction

DiversityThursday

Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Aimal @ Bookshelves and Paperbacks. The goal: talk about diverse books! The meme features 3 diverse books—1 diverse book you read and enjoyed, 1 diverse book that you haven’t read yet, and 1 diverse book that hasn’t been released yet.

Welcome to my first queer Diversity Spotlight Thursday! For the month of June and into July, I’m going to be focusing my book-related posts around LGBT+ literature—not because I don’t read queer the rest of the year, but because I want to celebrate the amazing wealth of queer books we have out there, as well as ones releasing soon.

The Diverse Reads 2017 Challenge for June & July is all things gender & sexuality. ICYMI, check out My Big Queer Summer TBR for a long list of books I’m hoping to get to in the next few months.

This week, I’m focusing away from YA for once and highlighting some awesome LGBT adult/literary fiction books.

linebreak

a diverse book I’ve read & enjoyed

Aquamarine by Carol Anshaw

This book is about the choices we make and how our lives could completely change based on one moment. The story is in 3 parts, 3 different possible trajectories Jessie’s life could have taken. I don’t want to spoil anything, but this was one of the coolest depictions of bisexuality I’ve ever encountered. Definitely check it out if you haven’t already.

a diverse book on my TBR

Nevada by Imogin Bonnie

This book is about a trans woman, Maria, living in New York City (and we all know I’m a sucker for NYC books). BONUS! It’s #OwnVoices! I really want to read more books by trans authors this summer. I think it’s difficult for a cis writer to tell a trans person’s story in a way that doesn’t rely on stereotypes—and I think we as cis folks should be boosting stories told by trans folks.

Nevada was nominated for the Lamda Literary Award for Transgender Fiction in 2014.

a diverse book releasing soon

Pages For Her by Sylvia Brownrigg (Releases July 11, 2017)

Years ago, in research for my first (now trunked) novel, I started reading all the lesbian/bi girl books I could find. Half of them were pretty meh, to be honest, but one of the great ones I read was Sylvia Brownrigg’s Pages For You, about a college girl’s first f/f relationship. And then I found out that there’s a sequel, over 15 years later, that comes out this summer! You can imagine my excitement. I may re-read Pages For You beforehand.

linebreak

That’s it for this week! What are some great LGBT books on your TBR? Let’s talk in the comments.

4 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday: LGBT adult fiction”

Leave a Reply

