Diversity Spotlight Thursday

Diversity Spotlight Thursday | Trans / Non-Binary Characters

DiversityThursday

Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Aimal @ Bookshelves and Paperbacks. The goal: talk about diverse books! The meme features 3 diverse books—1 diverse book you read and enjoyed, 1 diverse book that you haven’t read yet, and 1 diverse book releasing soon.

I’m gonna be honest here: I have in no way read enough trans lit—especially of the #OwnVoices variety. This is something I’m quickly working to rectify in my life.

Here are a few on my radar:

 

A Diverse Book I Read & Enjoyed

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

This is a wonderful #OwnVoices story about a trans girl living in the South. Amanda Hardy just wants to pass as a girl and get out of town, but falling in love complicates things. I appreciate the way this book showed two sides of the coin: Amanda’s ability to be seen as a (quite pretty) girl, and her past struggles with transphobia, violence, and attempting suicide. It’s not a light read, but it contains so much hope at the same time.

You can read my review here.

A Diverse Book on my TBR

Coffee Boy by Austin Chant

I’ve heard really good things about this book, which has a gay trans guy as the main character and a bisexual male love interest—so basically two really underrepresented aspects of the queer community. I’ve also realized recently that I haven’t read that many m/m romances, which is all the more reason I can’t wait to read this one.

A Diverse Book Releasing Soon

Dress Codes for Small Towns by Courtney C. Stevens (August 29, 2017)

Small town in the south? Check. Genderfluid, “box-defying” main character? Check. Count me in.

Read the synopsis if you don’t believe me.

fullsizeoutput_277b

That’s what I’ve got for this week, but I’d love more recommendations about transgender or non-binary/genderqueer characters—especially in YA. It’s so important for us as bloggers to promote books that represent these experiences, and I’d love to add more to my list. Let’s talk in the comments!

12 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday | Trans / Non-Binary Characters”

  1. Thank you for this post, Christine! I always love how you make me discover new books I haven’t heard of before, but definitely need to be on my radar. I especially like the sound of Coffee Boy! 🙂

    1. Awww, thank you, Marie! You leave the sweetest comments ❤
      Honestly, half the books on these lists are ones I've found from other amazing book bloggers. I guess it's a pay it forward kind of thing, haha. It's also super fun to research specific categories of books and read other people's reviews. I love a good challenge for myself. 🙂

  2. I’ve read Coffee Boy and it was such an enjoyable book to read. It’s short but sweet! I don’t know whether you take recs here but if you’re looking for more own voices trans m/m romances, I could recommend ‘Starting From Scratch’ by Jay Northcote.

    If I Was Your Girl has been on my TBR forever and I really need to get to it, but my TBR is just ever expanding especially now I’ve just added ‘Dress Codes for Small Towns’ to it.

    Great post!

    1. Thank you! And I always take recs! My TBR is exploding, but I’m always looking for lesser known books as well. Sometimes it seems like book bloggers all talk about the same books, and I’d love to be able to read and shed light on some smaller name authors. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      1. I agree! Sometimes it’s nice for other books to get a chance to shine. I know what you mean about an exploding TBR but at least the book I recced is fairly short? 😀 I would recommend the whole series though (although all books can be read as standalone) so that might take up more of your time.

Leave a Reply

