monthly wrap-up

Monthly Wrap-Up: June 2017

JuneWU

Welcome to another monthly wrap-up!

Please note: I used to put a section in this post called Around the Blogosphere, where I share a few great posts from the month by other bloggers. Due to the sheer amount of awesomeness currently in my WordPress Reader, I’ve decided to do a separate post for this. You will find Around the Blogosphere posts here, starting tomorrow.

fullsizeoutput_277b

in my personal life

June was an eventful month on several fronts. Basically my living situation went from relaxing and stable to this current state where I’m perpetually on edge. It’s not really a great feeling, and I’d like to move immediately, but it’s not feasible for multiple reasons. I guess right now I’m just focusing on taking things one day at a time. Sometimes, the only way out is through.

On the bright side, the shit hitting the fan spurred me into action. I’d been talking about needing to get a job (at least with myself) for literally months. But because I’d been unemployed for so long, the idea of job hunting gave me so much anxiety. Being unemployed (even though it was my choice to quit my job) gave me this feeling that I was not hirable, and that I’d never find a job, much less one I actually enjoyed. And then something snapped in me.

Which, oddly enough, is how mental health goes for me a lot of the time. I’m stuck in the mire and then Something makes me realize I need to Do Something about it. In this case, Doing Something culminated in me going out and getting a shitty job that I will definitely hate in less than a month, but will help me pay my bills. Even though it’s only part time, it’s something, and it’s definitely throwing my old routine into a state of chaos. I’ve yet to determine if said chaos is awful or exactly what I needed. Ask me in a month.

fullsizeoutput_277b

in my writing life

I started June intending to get down to business with editing my WIP, affectionately called #BiDepressiveYA. It went great for about a week, and then shit hit the fan and threw everything off.

On the one hand, I’m vaguely upset with myself for letting my novel get shoved to the back burner yet again. On the other hand, I reached a point where I couldn’t even think about the story. I realized that, you know, sometimes this just happens, and it’s okay. I have to take care of myself before I can do the creative work.

At this point, I’m still on hiatus from writing. I’m adjusting to the new job and then I’m going to go from there.

If you want to see more on this, I did a post a few days ago.

fullsizeoutput_277b

in my reading life

June is Pride Month, so naturally the Diverse Reads 2017 Challenge for this month (and next!) is to read LGBTQIA+ books! Yay! This month was so much fun that I did a Twitter thread of Pride Recs. I’ve had a lot of queer books on my shelf for literally years and there are so many amazing new ones coming out as well.

I read 15 books in June: 13 of them were LGBTQIA+. Since my goal for this year was to read 2 diverse books for every 1 non-diverse book, I’m currently sitting right at 66% diverse reads for this year. I’m really, really happy with those stats and hopefully I can maintain it.

I’m actually pretty proud of myself for reading diversely within the “queer” umbrella. In the past, I’ve read a lot of L/G books, with a few B books sprinkled in (since that’s my category, after all). Here’s a breakdown of the IDs of the main characters of the books I read this month:

Lesbian – 1 | Gay – 2 | Bisexual – 2 | Transgender – 3 | Queer (or otherwise unspecified) – 2 | Intersex – 0 | Asexual – 1 | Pansexual – 1 | Polyam – 1

Since the challenge extends into July, I’m looking forward to reading more queer books. I’m going to focus on (a) books I already own and (b) books featuring non-binary characters and intersex characters, as those are categories I haven’t covered yet.

Here’s a look at what I read this month.

[as always, titles link to Goodreads. * indicates reviews on Goodreads only]

from the TBR shelf

ARCs/Review Copies

new to my shelf

spotlight: it’s too close to call!

That’s the thing about reading (almost) all LGBTQIA+ books (by mostly queer authors): I have almost no complaints on this list. My average rating this month was about 4 stars.

July TBR

fullsizeoutput_277b

on the blog

I realize that I just redesigned my blog in April, but guess what? I did it again. I’m indebted to Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews for her amazing post on how to choose a blog theme. She’s got more posts coming in the series, so keep an eye out for those!

In other news, I learned something that sounds pretty obvious: the more posts I put out in a week, the more people view, like, and comment on my posts. This month, I upped my posts per week from 3-4 to 5 posts per week. It’s slightly more work, obviously, and I may not be able to keep it up when I get in the thick of editing. What I discovered is that the more discussions I write, the easier it becomes, and the more ideas I come up with. I guess the take away is that I stopped being so afraid that no one would care what I have to say—and now at least a few people care what I have to say, which is kind of cool.

The funny thing is, I’ve only really been at this blogging thing for 3 months. Before April, I didn’t really know what I was doing and I didn’t have a specific theme to my blog. It feels like now, finally, I’m getting into a groove.

my posts from this month:

In all the shit that went down this month, this blog is pretty much the big ol silver lining in the mess of my life. So thank you to all of you who stop by, even if all you do is like the post or leave a short comment. Every single bit of interaction on here fills me with so much joy. Keep on keepin on.

fullsizeoutput_277b

That’s a wrap for June! I can’t believe it’s already over! How was your month? Link me to your wrap-up post in the comments!

11 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: June 2017”

  1. I love how thorough your wrap-up is! I hope things get a little less complicated for you soon, but I’m looking forward to hearing what you think about your July TBR books. 🙂

  2. I’m sorry to hear you’ve been having a complicated time a bit – I feel like I’m in the same sort of mindset as you most of the time, I’m thinking about a change but not actually doing it and I’m still waiting for that little something to push me. But how do you now if you’re pushed in the right direction? Anyway ahah. Congratulations on the part time job, I hope everything goes well!
    Sometimes it’s good to take a break from writing for sure, I’m sure that you’ll come back to your story in a couple weeks feeling refreshed and even more motivated.
    You had such a good reading month, forever thankful for all of your recommendations. I hope you’ll have a great month ❤

    1. I just keep repeating to myself “the only way out is through” because for some reason that makes a lot of sense to me. And it reminds me that the best choice is to keep moving forward, even if that means taking things one day at a time.

      As far as changes go…I don’t know how we can ever know whether we’re making the right change or not. Although, I was having a conversation with my friend the other day, and she pointed out that even though I’m 27 I’m still technically young. Even if I live a year in the wrong direction, that’s okay, you know?

      1. It does make a lot of sense. I need to remind myself of that once in a while. YES, this, you’re so right. I just want everything figured out right now but I guess we are still young 🙂 ❤ Thank you so much, Christine ❤

  3. Blog wise your June really was awesome! I love how detailed and thoughtful your podts are! I’m sorry things aren’t exactly going great for you on other fronts. Really hoping things work out for you. Take care!

    1. It’s funny how my blog is the one thing that hasn’t fallen apart 🙈 thank you for saying such nice things though. It means a lot to know that the words that come out of my head make sense to someone other than me ❤

  4. Sorry things have been stressful, but congrats on the job ♥♥ I feel like I follow a similar pattern with my own MI. I’ll have moments of realisation where I’m like “yep, I gotta Do Something!!”. Most times it’s short lived, but still 😂 I hope everything with said job goes well for you!!

    You had such a good reading month!! I really hope you love Every Heart a Door Way because it’s one of my favourites.

    I have so much respect that you’re posting 5 times a week!! Sometimes I can barely manage twice a week, haha. Also love the new look of your blog and I’m so glad my post was able to help 😘

    1. Aww thank you Lauren! It’s funny how the month my life exploded was also the month I was able to stay focused on blogging. I know it’s definitely not that way for everyone, but having this blog is one of the few things that keeps me going and takes my mind off everything else in my life that’s stressful.

Leave a Reply

