skoolie life

announcement & semi-hiatus 

Hi everyone!

First of all, I want to say thank you to each one of you reading this. When I started sort-of blogging back in January as a way to keep track of my reading, I never imagined how far I would come. When I revamped my blog look and content in April, I didn’t expect for things to go so well. I am still daily amazed by the kind words from each of you. This blog is the one thing (aside from regular yoga practice) that has kept me from truly reaching an unsafe place with my depression. I am forever grateful to everyone who has reached out, especially recently.

And now, an announcement. 

If you follow me on twitter, you may have seen this yesterday:


My fiancé and I have been considering our living situation for a while now and deciding what to do next. After much consideration (and anxiety) we invested in this beauty: meet Gus, our future home!

Basically, we’re renovating this decommissioned school bus and turning it into a tiny home on wheels. It’s going to be a lot of work, especially because we’d like to have it mostly livable by the end of August.

As much as I want to keep up with blogging, I also have a mediocre part time job that’s the major financial contribution to this process. I’m stressed. I love this blog, but I don’t want to do it half-heartedly.

So for now, consider me on temporary hiatus.

I have a few reviews that haven’t been posted, so I’ll try to keep those going. However, I’m not going to have time for the things I really love: writing discussion posts, and keeping up with blog hopping. I will try to respond to comments, but I will most likely not be around very much.

I hate this part. I hate that I can’t do all the things I love. But I know from experience that if I try to do all the things, most of those things will be half-assed. And y’all deserve better.

Thank you guys again for all the support. 

If all goes well, I will be back to regular scheduling soon. This is not the end for The Story Salve! In fact, I feel it’s only the beginning.

20 thoughts on “announcement & semi-hiatus ”

  1. Ohhh what an exciting project! Don’t worry about it, we will always be here waiting for you, Christine ❤ Thank you for making me discover so many wonderful books in such a short time. I'll miss you tons around here but you are right, it's only the beginning and not the end 😀 ❤ Sending you lots of love ❤

    1. Thank you so much, Marie! I feel so lucky to have encountered so many people here who are supportive and appreciative of me and who also understanding needing a break sometimes. It makes me feel like I’m not as alone as I thought I was at the beginning of 2017. Thank you for everything ❤ I'll be seeing you soon.

    1. Thank you Bridget! I’m hopefully going to compile an update post next week maybe? And I definitely want to put together an in-depth post on how we’re doing everything (mostly how we’re saving money) because the info out on YouTube for this kind of project is completely unhelpful for doing it on the cheap.

Leave a Reply

